ent-type" content="text/html; charset=UTF-8" />
Please enable JS

TRAITEMENTS

Systeme
lingual

Nous sommes les experts mondiaux pour le traitement lingual invisible!

Le Dr Curiel est le fondateur et le développeur du système lingual HARMONY. Harmony qui a été acheté par les orthodontistes américains est l'un des équipement et traitement en orthodontie les plus performants au monde et ce depuis la fin de l'année 2011. Dr Curiel a depuis formé et qualifié des milliers d'orthodontistes dans le monde . Nous sommes les experts du système lingual invisible 3D dans le monde entier.

Depuis 2015, nous utilisons maintenant une approche complètement différente et un système qui nous permet de dessiner votre sourire en 3D.Nous utilisons un système invisible et très performant qui peut traiter tout type de mallocclusion.

Notre technologie linguale en 3D

Dans la clinique d'orthodontie Curiel,nous utilisons un traitement révolutionnaire en 3D qui nous permet de dessiner très précisément votre plus beau sourire et dentition.

o Nous utilisons un scanner dentaire en 3D pour prendre en photo votre dentition.

o Puis ,nous créons une maquette en 3D de votre dentition en utilisant une technologie d'imagerie avancée.

o Du modèle en 3D de votre bouche ,nous faisons une simulation de ce que va être votre nouveau sourire en bougeant vos dent une à une à l'aide de l'ordinateur. Notre programme de traitement fournit des outils de simulation virtuelle qui nous permet de déterminer la position finale de vos dents et le programme le plus efficace pour vos besoins.

o Nous utilisons, alors,une technologie robotisée dernier cri afin de déterminer la solution qui vous est propre en 3D. Le robot applique de la chaleur pour façonner les fils en un matériau qui donne de la force aux dents .Un tel matériau vous offre le traitement le plus agréable possible et ne peut être façonné à la main.

o Vous verrez de meilleurs résultats et des traitements plus courts qu'auparavant avec des méthodes plus traditionnelles.

o Nous utilisons la technologie linguale auto-ligaturante et nous vous offrons aujourd'hui un système très performant ;95%des patients adultes oublie leur appareil en moins d'une semaine !

img
Invisalign A Paris
Dans la clinique d'orthodontie Curiel,nous pensons que tout le monde , quelque soit leur âge, mérite un beau sourire éclatant. C'est pour cette raison que nous recommandons le traitement invisalign aux patients qui font appel à l'orthodontie esthétique.

Le docteur Curiel et son équipe travaillent très dur pour faire en sorte que tous les patients soient enchantés des résultats de leur traitement.Que vous ayez un enfant qui a besoin de soins en orthodontie ou que vous soyez un adulte désireux d'améliorer votre sourire,vous pouvez être certain que la clinique Curiel offre le traitement qui vous convient le mieux.

Invisalign est la méthode idéale pour aider les patients adultes à corriger les dents désalignées sans les désagréments liés aux bagues en métal traditionnelles. Pour en savoir plus sur ce traitement orthodontique de pointe,poursuivez votre lecture ou bien contactez-nous dès aujourd'hui pour voir si Invisalign vous conviendrait.

Qu'est-ce Invisalign®?

Invisalign® est une méthode pour redresser les dents conçue avec l'esthétique en tête. Vos amis,votre famille et vos collègues ne remarqueront même pas que vous avez des bagues . Le système Invisalign est composé d'aligneurs en plastique transparents qui sont très difficiles à voir . Avec le temps,les aligneurs se placent sur les dents .

Contrairement aux bagues en métal traditonnelles, il n'y à pas de supports ou de fils à régler et vous n'avez pas à sacrifier votre apparence aujourd'hui.

Que dois-je attendre du traitement Invisalign?

Lors de votre consultation,Dr Curiel évaluera l'état de votre dentition et détermineront si Invisalign serait une bonne solution. Ils répondront également à toutes vos questions et interrogations . Puis,des images et des empreintes de vos dents seront faites et,un modèle en 3D sera réalisé. Ceci aidera le Docteur Curiel à élaborer un programme pour redresser votre dentition. Cela permettra aussi aux docteurs de déterminer de la durée du traitement.

Chaque aligneur est exclusivement dessiné pour vous.Ces aligneurs doivent être portés jour et nuit,mais ils peuvent être enlevés pendant les repas et l'hygiène buccale au quotidien. Chaque aligneur est porté pendant environ deux semaines avant d'en changer.Cela garantit que le positionnement de vos dents continue à évoluer selon votre programme. Pendant cette période,le docteur Curiel vous demandera de venir pour des bilans ,des contrôles à peu près toutes les 8 semaines afin de suivre l'évolution .

Quels sont les avantages de la méthode Invisalign®?

A la fin du traitement,les résultats d'Invisalign seront les mêmes qu'avec des bagues en métal traditionnelles . Cependant,il y a de nombreux avantages à la méthode Invisalign que les bagues en métal traditionnelles ne peuvent pas procurer comme par exemple:

• Vous pouvez manger absolument tous les aliments même ceux qui sont interdits avec les bagues en métal.

• Les aligneurs sont propres et discrets

• Vous pouvez continuer votre hygiène buccale au quotidien

• Les aligneurs sont lisses

• Moins de rendez-vous donc plus de temps pour vous.
img
LE SYSTÈME DAMON
Nous utilisons le Système Damon qui n'est pas seulement un système révolutionnaire de bagues et de fils mais une toute nouvelle façon de traiter les patients.

Virtuellement invisible,Damon Clear a de vrais avantages contrairement aux bagues traditionnelles et aligneurs. Damon Clear fait partie du système innovant Damon qui combine des fils dentaires sans attaches avec des arcs dentaires haute technologie qui sont testés cliniquement pour faire en sorte que les dents redressent rapidement et sans aucune douleur avec des résultats spectaculaires.

Le traitement traditionnel nécessite souvent d'extraire des dents saines et/ou l'utilisation d'ecarteurs palatins pour faire de la place. Cette méthode est souvent douloureuse, plus longue et peut laisser un arc plus étroit et un profil plat. Les sourires de Damon sont complet, naturel (sourire à 10 dents) obtenu par des forces légères, et sont spécialement conçus pour améliorer le résultat facial global de chaque patient.  

Les supports Damon Clear n’ont pas de pièces métalliques visibles ni de liens élastiques qui peuvent jaunir pendant le traitement les rendre plus discrets et résistants à la coloration et à la décoloration tout au long de votre traitement. Le temps de traitement peut varier, des études cliniques démontrent que le traitement du système Damon peut durer jusqu’à six mois plus rapide que les appareils traditionnels.
Contentions 3D
Vous avez transformé votre sourire ! Maintenant, vous pouvez continuer à bien paraître avec un appareil de contention discret!

Lorsque votre appareil dentaire aura été enlevé, nous vous donnerons un appareil dentaire pour garder vos dents droites. Il y a deux raisons pour lesquelles nous donnons à tous nos patients des appareils de contentions. La première raison est que les dents sont maintenus dans l’os par des ligaments qui sont élastiques et ont une "mémoire". Les dents se rappellent de leur positions originales tordues et veulent revenir à cette position. Ceci est appelé rechute.

La deuxième raison, c’est que nous vieillissons tous et qu'à mesure que nous vieillissons, les dents ont tendance à bouger. C’est ce qui arrive pour la plupart des gens, peu importe s’ils ont déjà eu un appareil dentaire ou non. Les contentions ne sont pas une garantie que vos dents ne bougeront jamais. Rappelez-vous, nous avons tous un âge, même vos dents. Les traitement orthodontique peuvent redresser les dents, mais nous ne pouvons pas vous empêcher de vieillir.

Cependant, le dispositif de contention maintiendra les dents aussi droites que possible et aidera à minimiser les deux rechute orthodontique ainsi que les changements de vieillissement. Enlever les contentions même pour une courte période peut permettre aux dents de se déplacer, même des années après l’enlèvement des appareils dentaires.
retainer
Laser Recontouring
Nous sommes heureux d’offrir les avantages des traitements au laser à diode à nos patients qui reçoivent un traitement d’orthodontie. Avec l’utilisation d’un laser de diode spécialisé, nous sommes en mesure d'efficacement et confortablement éliminer l’excès de tissu de gencive.

La meilleure partie est que nous pouvons habituellement faire l’ensemble du traitement avec seulement anesthésique topique sans besoin d’aiguilles ou de piqûres.

Nous appliquons simplement une petite quantité de gel anesthésique topique sur les gencives pendant quelques minutes, puis retirer le tissu nécessaire avec le laser. La récupération prend habituellement entre 1 et 3 jours et les patients décrivent le processus de guérison similaire à manger une pizza chaude.

img
Apnée du Sommeil
L'apnée obstructive du sommeil, ou OSA, découle de ce qui est essentiellement un problème mécanique. Pendant le sommeil, la langue du patient retombe contre son palais mou, et le palais mou et l’uvule retombent contre le dos de la gorge, provocant la fermeture des voies respiratoires. Résultat : lorsque le dormeur dilate la poitrine pour inhaler, aucun air ne pénètre dans les poumons.  
 
Plusieurs types d’apnée du sommeil existent, mais le type le plus commun est l’apnée obstructive du sommeil, qui se produit lorsque vos muscles de la gorge se détendent par intermittence et bloque vos voies respiratoires pendant le sommeil. Le plus notable signe d’apnée obstructive du sommeil est le ronflement.   
 
N’importe qui peut développer l’apnée obstructive du sommeil, bien qu’il affecte le plus souvent d’âge moyen et plus les adultes et les personnes qui sont en surpoids. Le traitement de l’apnée du sommeil obstructive peut impliquer l’utilisation d’un dispositif pour garder les voies respiratoires ouvertes ou utiliser un embout buccal pour pousser la mâchoire vers l’avant pendant le sommeil. Certaines personnes peuvent subir une intervention pour modifier la structure de leur nez, de leur bouche ou de leur gorge.

Signes et symptomes de l'apnée du sommeil obstructive

• Somnolence excessive pendant la journée  

• Ronflement fort 

• Épisodes observés d’arrêt de la respiration pendant le sommeil  

• Éveil brusque accompagné d’un essoufflement

• Réveil avec bouche sèche ou mal de gorge

• Réveil avec douleur à la poitrine  

• Maux de tête matinaux 

• Difficulté à se concentrer pendant la journée  

• Éprouver des changements d’humeur, comme la dépression ou l’irritabilité  

• Difficulté à dormir (insomnie)

Quand voir un docteur ?

Consult a medical professional if you experience, or if your partner observes, the following:

Consultez un professionnel de la santé si vous ou si votre partenaire rencontrez:

• Ronflement suffisamment fort pour perturber votre sommeil ou celui des autres

• Essoufflement qui vous réveille du sommeil

• Pauses intermittentes dans la respiration pendant le sommeil

• Somnolence excessive pendant la journée, ce qui peut vous faire vous endormir pendant que vous travaillez, que vous regardez la télévision ou même que vous conduisez un véhicule

 

Beaucoup de gens ne pensent pas que le ronflement soit un signe de quelque chose de potentiellement grave, et pas tous ceux qui ronflements ont une apnée obstructive du sommeil. Cependant, assurez-vous de parler à votre médecin si vous rencontrez fort le ronflement, surtout le ronflement ponctué de périodes de silence. Avec l'apnée obstructive du sommeil, le ronflement est généralement plus fort lorsque vous dormez sur votre dos, et il se calme lorsque vous tournez sur le côté. Demandez à votre médecin de vous parler de tout problème de sommeil qui vous laisse chronique fatigué, somnolent et irritable. Il ya beaucoup de personnes souffrantent d’apnée du sommeil qui n’ont pas été diagnostiqués ou ayant reçu un traitement. Un médecin du sommeil peut diagnostiquer l’apnée obstructive du sommeil à l’aide d’une étude du sommeil en laboratoire ou d’un sommeil à domicile apnée. L'apnée du sommeil est gérable en utilisant la pression positive continue des voies respiratoires (CPAP) thérapie, le traitement de première ligne pour l’apnée du sommeil, la thérapie par appareil buccal ou la chirurgie.
img img

ENFANTS & ADOS

recommandations
L’American Association of Orthodontits recommande qu’un enfant obtienne son premier examen orthodontiste à 7 ans.

Cela nous permet d’identifier les problèmes présents dans la mâchoire, les dents et le visage tout en développant un plan de traitement complet qui combine l’orthodontie avec l’orthopédie dentaire

img
Traitement en deux phases

QUELS SONT LES AVANTAGES DU TRAITEMENT D’ORTHODONTIE EN DEUX PHASES ?

Le traitement orthodontique en deux phases est un processus spécialisé qui combine les changements physiques et faciaux. Le traitement en deux phases vise à atteindre le résultat idéal, sain, fonctionnel et esthétique qui restera stable tout au long la vie de votre enfant.

QUE FAIRE SI LE TRAITEMENT EST RETARDÉ?

Retarder le traitement peut entraîner un besoin de traitement plus invasif plus tard dans la vie qui peut ne pas réparer complètement le sourire de votre enfant. Le traitement précoce est plus efficace pour atteindre durable résultats.

PHASE UNE

Une fondation pour une vie de beaux sourires. Le but de la phase 1 du traitement est d’aider la mâchoire à s'adapter aux dents définitives et d’améliorer la façon dont les mâchoires supérieures et inférieures s’intègrent. Les enfants souvent présentent des signes précoces de problèmes de mâchoire à mesure qu’ils grandissent et se développent. Une mâchoire supérieure qui se développe aussi beaucoup ou est trop étroit peut être reconnu à un âge précoce. Si les enfants de plus de six ans sont trouvés pour avoir cette différence de mâchoire, ils sont candidats pour un traitement orthodontique précoce. Si les enfants autour de l’âge de huit ont les dents avant encombrées, un traitement précoce peut prévenir la nécessité de extraire les dents définitves plus tard.

Le Dr. Curiel a fait de nombreuses années de recherche intensive spécifiquement en orthopédie dentofaciale; il a écrit et publié sa thèse de maîtrise en thérapie orthopédique, recevant summa cum laude qui est le la plus haute reconnaissance pour ce travail.

Chez Curiel Orthodontics, nous utilisons des appareils spéciaux pour déplacer correctement les irrégularités faciales perfection. Le traitement orthopédique peut être fait pendant ou avant qu’un patient reçoive l’orthodontie traitement avec appareil dentaire.

• Planifier maintenant peut sauver le sourire de votre enfant plus tard Les enfants bénéficient énormément du traitement précoce. Le fait de recevoir un traitement précoce peut prévenir l’enlèvement de dents permanentes plus tard dans la vie, ou la nécessité d’interventions chirurgicales pour réaligner la mâchoires.

• Établir des dossiers pour déterminer le traitement unique de votre enfant Des dossiers orthodontiques seront nécessaires pour déterminer le type d’appareils à utiliser, la durée du temps de traitement et de la fréquence des visites. Les dossiers comprennent les modèles des dents, les rayons X, et des photographies. Au cours de la consultation initiale de votre enfant, le médecin déterminer si un traitement précoce est nécessaire.

PERIODE DE REPOS

In this phase, the remaining permanent teeth are left alone as they erupt. Retaining devices may not be recommended if they would interfere with eruption. It is best to allow the existing permanent teeth some freedom of movement. A successful first phase will have created room for permanent teeth to find an eruption path. Otherwise, they may become impacted or severely displaced. Dans cette phase, les dents définitves restantes sont laissés libre pour la sortie. Le dispositifs de contention peut ne pas être recommandé si elles interféreraient avec la pousse de ces dernières. Il est préférable laisser une certaine liberté de mouvement aux dents définitves déjà présentent. Une première phase réussie aura créé de la place pour les dents définitves. Autrement, elles peuvent être touchés ou gravement déplacé.

• Suivre le progrès des dents. À la fin de la première phase du traitement, les dents ne sont pas dans leur position finale. Ce sera déterminée et réalisée dans la deuxième phase du traitement. Élimination sélective de certains (bébé) les dents peuvent être dans le meilleur intérêt d’améliorer la pousse des dents définitves pendant cette phase de repos. Par conséquent, des rendez-vous périodiques de rappel pour l’observation sont nécessaires, habituellement sur une période de six mois base.

PHASE DEUX

Rester en bonne santé et avoir l’air séduisant Le but de la deuxième phase est de s’assurer que chaque dent a un emplacement exact dans la bouche où est en harmonie avec les lèvres, les joues, la langue et les autres dents. Lorsque cet équilibre est établi, les dents fonctionneront correctement ensemble. La phase accolades inférieures.

Au début de la première phase, des dossiers orthodontiques ont été établis ainsi qu’un diagnostic et un traitement plan a été établi. Certains types d’appareils ont été utilisés dans la première phase pour réaligner les dents et la mâchoire. La deuxième phase commence lorsque toutes les dents permanentes sont sorties, et nécessite habituellement un appareil dentaire sur toutes les dents pendant une moyenne de 24 mois. Les appareils de contentions sont portés après cette phase pour s’assurer que votre enfant conserve son beau sourire.
img
Modifications de croissance
Nos médecins sont des experts en orthodontie et en orthopédie dentaire.

Alors que l’orthodontie ne concerne que les mouvements des dents, l’orthopédie dentofaciale est utilisée pour diriger le visage pendant que les mâchoires, les muscles faciaux et les dents grandissent et mûrissent. Comme la croissance du visage se produit surtout pendant les plus jeunes années, les enfants sont les principaux bénéficiaires de l’orthopédie dentofaciale. Mais les enfants et les adultes peuvent bénéficier de ces traitements exceptionnels. L’aspect orthodontique de notre pratique est plus facile à comprendre, mais l’orthopédie dentofaciale aspect peut être plus difficile à saisir pour les patients.

Cela nous permet d’identifier les problèmes présents dans la mâchoire, les dents et le visage tout en développant un plan de traitement complet qui combine l’orthodontie avec l’orthopédie dentaire.
img
Invisalign Ado
Laissez Invisalign® Teen vous aider à perfectionner votre sourire en utilisant des aligneurs clairs pour que vos souvenirs d’adolescence puissent être capturé avec confiance.
Invisalign Teen aligneurs sont amovibles et pratiquement invisible, qui signifie que vous pouvez redresser vos dents sans que personne ne le sache. Tu peux toujours manger et boire ce que tu veux.

En outre, vous pouvez brosser et passer le fil dentaire normalement pour maintenir des gencives et des dents saines, et il ne sont pas des fils métalliques ou pour provoquer des abrasions buccales.
img

Please enable JS

TREATMENTS

Lingual
System

We are the World Expert for Invisible Lingual treatment!

Dr Curiel was the founder and developer of the HARMONY LINGUAL SYSTEM. HARMONY as bought by American Orthodontics, one of the world’s largest manufacturers of orthodontic treatment supplies., in the late 2011. Dr Curiel have since trained and certified thousands of Orthodontists all around the world. We are the expert worldwide for Invisible 3D lingual system!

Since 2015, We now use a completely different approach and system that let us digitally Design your smile in 3D! we use invisible and very comfortable system that can treat all type off malocclusion!

OUR 3D LINGUAL Technology

At Curiel Orthodontics, we now use a revolutionary 3D treatment planning process that allows us to precisely design your best smile and bite, then deliver it faster than ever before..

o We use our 3 SHAPE intra oral scanner to capture a 3D model of your actual teeth.

o We then create a 3-D computer model of your bite by using advanced imaging technology.

o From the 3 D model of your actual teeth, we simulate what is going to be your NEW smile by moving teeth one by one on the computer. Our Treatment Planning software provides virtual simulation tools that allow us to determine the final position of your teeth and the most effective plan for your unique treatment needs

o We then use state-of-the-art robotic technology to produce your 3D customized lingual solution. The robot applies heat to shape wires into a material that delivers a light force to the teeth. Such material offers you the most comfortable treatment possible and cannot be shaped by hand

o You will see better results and shorter treatment times than previously possible with more conventional orthodontics.

o We use Self Ligating lingual technology and we now offer a very comfortable system :95% of our Adult patient forget their appliance after less than a week !

img
Invisalign In Paris
At Curiel Orthodontics, we feels that everybody, no matter how old they are, deserves a bright and beautiful smile. For this reason, we provide Invisalign® treatment to patients who require cosmetic orthodontics.

Dr. Curiel their staff work hard to make sure that each patient is pleased with the results of their treatment. Whether you have a child in need of orthodontic work, or you’re an adult looking to enhance your own smile, you can rest assured that curiel orthodontics offers a treatment to fit your needs.

Invisalign® is an ideal method for helping adult patients correct crooked teeth without the disruptions in appearance that come with traditional metal braces. To learn more about this cutting-edge orthodontic treatment, keep reading or call us today to find out whether Invisalign® is right for you.

What Is Invisalign®?

Invisalign® is a teeth-straightening method designed with aesthetics in mind. Your friends, family and co-workers never even have to find out you have braces. The Invisalign® system is made up of transparent plastic aligners that are difficult to see when they’re in place. Over time, the aligners move teeth into straighter positions.

Unlike traditional metal braces, there are no brackets or wires to adjust, and you won’t have to sacrifice your appearance now just to achieve a better one later.

What Can I Expect from Invisalign® Treatment?

During your consultation, Dr. Curiel will assess the condition of your teeth and determine whether Invisalign® would be a good solution. They will also address any questions or concerns. Afterward, images and impressions are taken of your teeth, and a 3D model is created. This helps Dr. Curiel develop an optimal plan for straightening your teeth. This will also enable them to determine how long the entire treatment will take.

Each aligner is part of a series designed specifically for you. The aligners must be worn all day and night, but they may be removed for meals and oral hygiene routines. Each aligner is worn for about two weeks before moving on to the next one in the series. This ensures that the positioning of your teeth continues to improve according to your custom treatment plan. Throughout this time, Dr. Curiel will have you come in for checkups approximately every eight weeks to make sure the process is going smoothly.

What Are the Advantages of Using Invisalign®?

At the end of treatment, the results of Invisalign® will be just like those provided by metal braces. However, there are numerous advantages to Invisalign® that traditional braces can’t deliver. Some of these include:

• You can still enjoy all of the foods that are off-limits with metal braces.

• Aligners are clear and discreet

• You can maintain your normal oral hygiene routine

• The smooth aligners offer greater comfort and less irritation

• Fewer appointments mean more free time
img
Labial Clear Damon
System
We use The Damon System is not just about revolutionary braces and wires, it's a whole new way of treating patients.

Virtually invisible, Damon Clear has clear advantages over traditional braces and aligners. Damon Clear is part of the innovative Damon System, which combines tieless braceswith high technology archwires that are clinically proven to move teeth fast and comfortably with truly spectacular smile and facial results.

Traditional treatment often requires removal of healthy teeth and/or the use of palatal expanders to make space. This approach is often uncomfortable, takes longer, and can leave a narrower arch and a flat profile. Damon smiles are full, natural 10-tooth smiles achieved with light biologically-sensible forces, and are specifically designed to improve the overall facial result of each patient.  

Damon Clear brackets have no visible metal parts or elastic ties that can yellow during treatment making them more discrete and resistant to staining and discoloration throughout your treatment. While treatment time can vary, clinical studies demonstrate that Damon System treatment is up to six months faster than traditional braces.
3D Retainers
You have transformed your smile ! Now you can keep it looking good with discreet retainer !

When your braces have been removed we will give you a Retainer to keep your teeth straight. There are two reasons that we give all of our patients retainers. The first reason is that the teeth are held in the bone by ligaments that are elastic and have "memory". The teeth remember their original crooked positions and want to go back to that position. This is called relapse.

The second reason is that we all get older and as we age, the teeth tend to shift. This happens to most people regardless of whether they have ever had braces or not. Retainers are not a guarantee that your teeth will never move. Remember, we all age, even your teeth. Orthodontic treatment can straighten the teeth but we cannot prevent you from aging.

However, the retainer will keep the teeth as straight as possible and help minimize both the orthodontic relapse as well as the aging changes. Leaving the retainers out for even a short period of time can allow the teeth to shift, even years after the braces are removed.
retainer
Laser Recontouring
We are excited to offer the benefits of diode laser treatments to our patients receiving orthodontic treatment. With the use of a specialized diode laser, we are able to efficiently and comfortably remove excess gum tissue.

The best part is that we can usually do the entire treatment with only topical anesthetic with no need for needles or shots.

We simply apply a small amount of the gel topical anesthetic to the gums for a few minutes and then remove the needed tissue with the laser. Recovery usually takes 1-3 days and patients describe the healing process similar to eating a hot cheese pizza.

img
Sleep Apnea
Obstructive Sleep Apnea, or OSA, arises from what is basically a mechanical problem. During sleep the patient’s tongue falls back against his or her soft palate, and the soft palate and uvula fall back against the back of the throat, effectively closing the airway. Result: when the sleeper expands the chest to inhale, no air enters the lungs.  
 
Several types of sleep apnea exist, but the most common type is obstructive sleep apnea, which occurs when your throat muscles intermittently relax and block your airway during sleep. The most noticeable sign of obstructive sleep apnea is snoring.   
 
Anyone can develop obstructive sleep apnea, although it most commonly affects middle-aged and older adults and people who are overweight. Obstructive sleep apnea treatment may involve using a device to keep your airway open or using a mouthpiece to thrust your jaw forward during sleep. Some people undergo a procedure to change the structure of their nose, mouth or throat.

Signs and symptoms of obstructive sleep apnea

• Excessive daytime sleepiness 

• Loud snoring 

• Observed episodes of breathing cessation during sleep 

• Abrupt awakenings accompanied by shortness of breath 

• Awakening with a dry mouth or sore throat 

• Awakening with chest pain 

• Morning headache 

• Difficulty concentrating during the day 

• Experiencing mood changes, such as depression or irritability 

• Difficulty staying asleep (insomnia)

When to see a doctor?

Consult a medical professional if you experience, or if your partner observes, the following:

• Snoring loud enough to disturb your sleep or that of others

• Shortness of breath that awakens you from sleep

• Intermittent pauses in your breathing during sleep

• Excessive daytime drowsiness, which may cause you to fall asleep while you’re working, watching television or even driving a vehicle

 

Many people don’t think of snoring as a sign of something potentially serious, and not everyone who snores has obstructive sleep apnea. However, be sure to talk to your doctor if you experience loud snoring, especially snoring that’s punctuated by periods of silence. With obstructive sleep apnea, snoring usually is loudest when you sleep on your back, and it quiets when you turn on your side.
Ask your doctor about any sleep problem that leaves you chronically fatigued, sleepy and irritable. There are many people with sleep apnea who have not been diagnosed or received treatment. A sleep medicine physician can diagnose obstructive sleep apnea using an in-lab sleep study or a home sleep apnea test. Sleep apnea is manageable using continuous positive airway pressure (CPAP) therapy, the front-line treatment for sleep apnea, oral appliance therapy or surgery.
img img

KIDS & TEENS

recommendations
The American Association of Orthodontits recommends that a child gets his first orthodontist checkup by age seven.

This allows us to identify any present problems in the jaw, teeth and face while also developing a comprehensive treatment plan that combines orthodontics with dentofacial orthopedics.

img
Two Phase Treatment

WHAT IS THE ADVANTAGE OF TWO-PHASE ORTHODONTIC TREATMENT?

Two-phase orthodontic treatment is a specialized process that combines tooth straightening and physical, facial changes. The purpose of two-phase treatment is to maximize the opportunity to accomplish the ideal healthy, functional, and aesthetic result that will remain stable throughout your child's life.

WHAT IF TREATMENT IS PUT OFF?

Putting off treatment can result in a need for more invasive treatment later in life that may not completely fix your child's smile. Early treatment is most effective for achieving lasting results.

PHASE ONE

A Foundation for a Lifetime of Beautiful Smiles.
The goal of Phase One treatment is to help the jaw develop in a way that will accommodate all of the permanent teeth and improve the way the upper and lower jaws fit together. Children often exhibit early signs of jaw problems as they grow and develop. An upper jaw that is growing too much or is too narrow can be recognized at an early age. If children over the age of six are found to have this jaw discrepancy, they are candidates for early orthodontic treatment. Also, if children around the age of eight have crowded front teeth, early treatment can prevent the need to extract permanent teeth later.

Dr. Curiel did many years of intensive research specifically in dentofacial orthopedics; he wrote and published his Master’s thesis in orthopedic therapy, receiving summa cum laude which is the highest recognition for this work.

At Curiel Orthodontics, we use special appliances to properly move facial irregularities into perfection. Orthopedic treatment can be done during or before a patient receives orthodontic treatment with braces.

• Planning now can save your child's smile later Children benefit tremendously from early-phase treatment. Receiving early treatment may prevent the removal of permanent teeth later in life, or the need for surgical procedures to realign the jaws.

• Making records to determine your child's unique treatment Orthodontic records will be necessary to determine the type of appliances to be used, the duration of treatment time, and the frequency of visits. Records consist of models of the teeth, X-rays, and photographs. During your child's initial consultation, the doctor will take records to determine if early treatment is necessary.

RESTING PERIOD

In this phase, the remaining permanent teeth are left alone as they erupt. Retaining devices may not be recommended if they would interfere with eruption. It is best to allow the existing permanent teeth some freedom of movement. A successful first phase will have created room for permanent teeth to find an eruption path. Otherwise, they may become impacted or severely displaced.

• Monitoring the teeth's progress At the end of the first phase of treatment, teeth are not in their final positions. This will be determined and accomplished in the second phase of treatment. Selective removal of certain primary (baby) teeth may be in the best interest of enhancing eruption during this resting phase. Therefore, periodic recall appointments for observation are necessary, usually on a six-month basis.

PHASE TWO

Stay healthy and look attractive The goal of the second phase is to make sure each tooth has an exact location in the mouth where it is in harmony with the lips, cheeks, tongue, and other teeth. When this equilibrium is established, the teeth will function together properly. Phase Two usually involves full upper and lower braces.

At the beginning of the first phase, orthodontic records were made and a diagnosis and treatment plan was established. Certain types of appliances were used in the first phase to correct and realign the teeth and jaw. The second phase begins when all permanent teeth have erupted, and usually requires braces on all the teeth for an average of 24 months. Retainers are worn after this phase to ensure your child retains his or her beautiful smile.
img
Growth Modifications
Our doctors are experts in both orthodontics and dentofacial orthopedics.

While orthodontics concern movements of the teeth only, dentofacial orthopedics is used to direct the face as the jawbones, facial muscles and teeth grow and mature.
Since facial growth happens mostly during the younger years, children are the main recipients of dentofacial orthopedics.
But actually, both children and adults can benefit from these outstanding treatments. The orthodontics aspect of our practice is most easily understood, but the dentofacial orthopedics aspect can be harder for patients to grasp.

This allows us to identify any present problems in the jaw, teeth and face while also developing a comprehensive treatment plan that combines orthodontics with dentofacial orthopedics.
img
Invisalign Teen
Let Invisalign® Teen help perfect your smile using clear aligners so your teenage memories can be captured with confidence.
Invisalign Teen aligners are removable and virtually invisible, which means you can straighten your teeth without anyone knowing. You can still eat and drink what you want.

Also, you can brush and floss normally to maintain healthy gums and teeth, and there are no wires, metal or brackets to cause mouth abrasions.
img